An Exhaustingly Rewarding Ministry

Even though I am single with no children of my own the Lord has given me a great desire work with kids. My love of children’s ministry probably has something to do with the fact that it allows me to be loud and act like a teenager as opposed to my actual age. No matter what the reason it was a joy to be involved with Little Big Day Out at a local Baptist Church this week. This is a three to four hour vbs program for children during school break that involves puppets, games, music, a Bible lesson, crafts, and other fun activities.

wpid-p4190027-2011-04-22-10-33.jpg

The theme for the day was extreme obedience, and I had the opportunity to teach a lesson on King Josiah who decided he would obey God no matter what. It was a true blessing to see those boys and girls watching quietly as I encouraged them to obey the Lord just like Josiah. While the lesson was a blessing to be perfectly honest the highlight for me was that afternoons game time.

wpid-p4190015-2011-04-22-10-33.jpg

I helped run some of the games and had an absolute blast encouraging every group to beat the previous record that was held by the group before them. Whether it was the ring toss, bean bag relay, or bowling I cheered along with them every time and encouraged the kids to do more. Probably my favorite part of the day was a group of children chanting “twenty, twenty, twenty” as their team member finished the twentieth time around the cones in their bean bag relay (and beating the previous record of 19).

About three-thirty that afternoon I came home exhausted but thrilled and incredibly happy. Working with children is an exhausting ministry but extremely rewarding at the same time. Thats probably why I have been working the last few months and am continuing to pursue a ministry opportunity in the local school system teaching RE (Religious Education) classes.

Currently I finished my training with an accredited RE organization and we are talking with the school where Cornerstone holds its Sunday services about starting classes there. The Principal already agreed since there were RE classes in the past but it will take lots of time to get this ministry started. I expect to start no later than mid July and pray that it can begin as soon as late May but am not sure if its possible. Please remember me and this need by praying I can become involved in the exhausting but rewarding work of children’s ministry.

Because of Who He is,

John Wilburn

www.australianmissionary.com

Published by

John Wilburn

Church planter, teacher, and disciple-maker in Barrouallie St. Vincent

Leave a Reply

