A Specific Request

wpid-fotolia_2866428_xs2-2011-04-27-09-05.jpg

A few days ago I put a ministry update on my blog about the weakening American currency, and how if is affecting my financial support. Currently missionaries in Australia are losing close to eight cents on each dollar, which for me means losing $147 each month. While this exchange rate won’t last, it’s still discouraging to lose much needed support and it affects my ministry in Melbourne.

What I didn’t do on Friday was actually share a specific prayer request. This was actually a big mistake on my part since you who read my ministry updates love to learn about my needs and pray for them. So here is my request, please pray with me that the Lord would raise up six individuals or Churches who would support me for $25 a month ($300 a year).

This added support will initially go towards making up for the funds lost because of the weakened American currency. Then when the U.S. and Australian dollar are at parity (trading dollar for dollar) it would be used for hospitality, discipleship, and outreach expenses at Cornerstone Baptist Church.

I understand that you are getting requests from missionaries all over the world for added financial support, and many of them ask you to personally support their ministry. So my reason for sharing this request is primarily so you as my partners in ministry can know how to pray in a specific way about my needs. I also believe that the Lord may be leading some of you to begin supporting my ministry for $25 a month. If you are interested in doing this you can donate at the Baptist Mid Missions Website. Thanks so much for your thoughts and prayers as I continue to serve the Lord in Melbourne, Australia.

Because of Who He is,

John Wilburn

www.australianmissionary.com

Published by

John Wilburn

Church planter, teacher, and disciple-maker in Barrouallie St. Vincent

Leave a Reply

