Confessions of A Disconnected Missionary

wpid-1046664_cell_phone_in_trouble-2011-05-2-10-10.jpg

Dear Friends,

Every once in a while the Lord convicts me about areas of my ministry that are weak and don’t bring honor to Him. In most of those situations I confess that failure to God and ask Him for strength to be faithful in the future, but in this instance I want to publicly apologize because my weakness directly affects my prayer supporters.

When I came in January 2010 for my second term of service in Melbourne the Lord had placed a burden on my heart. Not just for the lost of this city, but also for those who support my ministry through prayers or finances. To be quite honest during my first term of service I didn’t do a very good job of communicating with supporters, oh I sent them a monthly prayer letter, but very rarely did they hear from me more than once a month. God began to convict me about the weak relationships I had with my prayer partners since only hearing from me once a month couldn’t develop a true relationship. I confessed to the Lord my sin of being disconnected from partners and asked Him to give me grace to obey more in the future.

Last Tuesday the Lord convicted me about falling into that same sin of disconnection again. WIth the many forms of social media (facebook, blogs, twitter) it wouldn’t be difficult to send ministry updates more than once a week. perhaps even every day! Yet I still send only one or two updates a month, which developed a very weak relationship between myself and those who prayed for me.

Most of my lack of communication didn’t come from laziness, but lack of something “cool” to share. I was looking for the tear jerking story, the exciting praise, the moving prayer request, and when nothing like that could be found then I didn’t share anything. I realize this comes from a heart of selfishness and pride that places feeling good about myself above the needs of others. So I would like to apologize to those of you who stand with me in my ministry for becoming disconnected from you.

There is always a need for more ministry partners who would help me share the Gospel with the unsaved of Melbourne. If you are interested in becoming a partner through prayer send me a message on facebook (johnwilburn) direct message on twitter (jhwilburn) or leave a comment on my blog www.australianmissionary.com. To those of you who receiving my updates for the first time and those who have been receiving them for years, I ask you to pray with me that the Lord would help me not to become a disconnected missionary in the future.

Your Connected Missionary,

John Wilburn

Published by

John Wilburn

Church planter, teacher, and disciple-maker in Barrouallie St. Vincent

Leave a Reply

