Praising God for My Many Mothers

wpid-1302705_huge_flower_bouquet_5-2011-05-9-09-07.jpg

As I looked over the mothers day message for yesterdays service I couldn’t help but think about my mom. This wasn’t really a surprise since she had been such a Godly influence upon my life and cared for me as a child, what I did find interesting was the other names that came to my mind. The Lord began to remind me of those women who I lovingly refer to as my “second mothers.”

We all have been impacted by Godly women like this haven’t we? There have been countless second mothers who helped me grow spiritually. Like the sunday school teacher who patiently dealt with an “active” (sounds better than stubborn or rebellious) child. The teachers at school who graciously put an end to my attention seeking ways in the classroom. The women at Church who helped me learn maths (my mortal enemy) when I got frustrated and wanted to give up.

In my teenage years my second mothers helped me with my “self esteem issues” (sounds better than pride or self-pity doesn’t it?). Their Godly counsel, encouragement, acceptance, and of course confrontation helped me understand who I am in Christ. During College they helped develop a love for literature, english, and teaching. At graduation they wept along with my own mother and told me how proud they were while giving a big hug. While working on my Masters Degree they gave wise counsel and motivation.

While raising support to go as a missionary to Australia my second mothers gave financially. But more importantly they gave emotionally with their encouraging notes, and spiritually through their prayers. When the day finally came for me to be commissioned as a missionary they all lined up and hugged me goodbye with tears in their eyes.

Since then the Lord has provided me with new Australian second mothers who minister to me in a powerful way. This was especially true when my first house was almost forty-five minutes from the Church I ministered at. These Godly women were always there with comfort, encouragement, wisdom, and of course delicious food!

So on this special day I honor my own mother who gave so much for me. But I also wanted to take a moment and say thanks to all of the other Godly women who treated me as if I was their own son, the love and grace you gave has helped me become the missionary I am today. So, how have second mothers been used by the Lord in your life?

Because of Who He is,

John Wilburn

www.australianmissionary.com

Published by

John Wilburn

Church planter, teacher, and disciple-maker in Barrouallie St. Vincent

Leave a Reply

