How to Make Me Very Angry

Since I am a pretty relaxed laid back person it takes a lot to make me angry.  In fact the number of things that set me off can be counted on one hand:  don’t mess with my family, don’t act as if your opinion is more important than everyone elses, don’t disrespect one of my friends, and don’t use the Bible out of context.  I know it probably seems weird to put using Scripture out of context in that list, but it’s something I take very seriously (second on the list under don’t mess with my family).

There are a few reasons why this bothers me so much, but the main one is I am called by God to teach Scripture and disciple Believers.  All of us are passionate about certain things in life (music, drama, writing, ect..), and when we see someone gives a lazy or half-hearted attempt to our passion it lights a fire in us.   I react to misinterpretation of Scripture the way a musician responds to poorly performed music, or a lover of drama reacts to actors who never tried to learn their lines.

So what can I do other than grind my teeth when someone uses an obscure verse as the foundation of their Belief (even though its contradicted by another one in the same chapter), or clench my fists when someone who definitely isn’t Jewish teaches that all Christians receive the promises of God to Israel, and give my loudest “are you kidding me” sigh when someone takes fifteen minutes to explain how they interpret a verse instead of just interpreting it literally?

The answer is to give an idea of what the Bible is about as a whole.  Most of us (myself included) usually view each book separately and on its own, when actually they are all part of one massive story.  A story that centers on God sending Christ to save mankind so that we don’t have to pay the price for our sins.  Looking at this story from beginning to end will help us all understand where every passage of Scripture fits into the plan of God for our lives.

During the month of August (and possibly longer) I am going to share brief posts on books of the Bible to give an overview on how they fit in the story of Scripture.  It will probably deal with them one at a time (except when the books are together like first and second Samuel) and focus on themes from the book, characteristics of God, and our Salvation through Christ.  I will attempt to find a balance between being too scholarly (using lots of Greek or Hebrew words) but we will cover some deep truths from time to time.  More than anything I pray these posts could help myself and others take a step back and be overwhelmed by the plan of God for our lives.  Genesis comes tomorrow people, so put on your walking shoes, and get ready for a long journey through Scripture.

Grace and Peace,

John

Published by

John Wilburn

Church planter, teacher, and disciple-maker in Barrouallie St. Vincent

Leave a Reply

