Adding Depth to Community

My main responsibility at Cornerstone Baptist Church is developing a youth and young adults program.  Up until now that has involved creating monthly activities, having fellowship times, and doing things together like the mens basketball team that plays on Tuesday nights.  Recently though the Lord began leading me to start a teaching ministry for our young people using one on one discipleship, or small groups.

To be quite honest this was something I struggled with since there wasn’t a huge amount of interest for this kind of teaching.  The young people of Cornerstone are saved and love the Lord but between Church, prayer meeting, work, school, and extracurricular activities there just wasn’t much time left for discipleship.  And of course Bible Studies weren’t very high on the list of things they were excited about doing, which is probably true of youth in every Country.

Knowing there was a need to add depth (strong Biblical teaching) to our community I began praying that the Lord would allow me to start working with discipleship material with some of the young people.  That prayer was answered a few months ago when I began discipling a fifteen year old who knew the Lord, but didn’t show any interest in serving Him.  The first sessions were pretty discouraging since he seemed not to be paying attention at all as we worked through the questions I had given for homework.  In fact he spent most of the second session scribbling on his paper instead of listening to me.

There was a temptation to just quit going through the material because he wasn’t interested, but I was reminded that the Word of God can change lives, so we continued meeting every other Monday.  About a month ago we were talking about living a life that is separate or different from the world and he asked me how someone could live a Holy life.  I said that could only come from a close relationship with God, and encouraged him to start reading the Bible (from the book of John).  Since then he has been faithful in reading and I noticed a huge difference in the attitude he brings to our discipleship sessions.

Last Monday after we were done talking about our calling to serve others in the Church I decided to ask him a few questions for fun.  One of them was if someone wants to make me happy what should the do?  After thinking for a moment he told me he wanted a study Bible with his name on the front of it because the old one had ripped apart.  Two days later the dad was thrilled to learn his son wanted a new Bible and told me he had been reading from John every day.

Adding depth to community is not an easy thing to do.  It takes months to accomplish (and then you still fail sometimes), it can be annoying, frustrating, depressing, humiliating, and infuriating at the same time!  But to see the Lord begin a work in a young persons life makes it all worthwhile.  Please pray for me as I begin discipling another one of our young men in a few weeks, and hold my first Bible Study for the young people of Cornerstone in two weeks.  That I would have the patience necessary to serve the Lord faithfully, and we could see depth added to our community.

Because of Who He is,

John Wilburn

Published by

John Wilburn

Church planter, teacher, and disciple-maker in Barrouallie St. Vincent

Leave a Reply

