Getting Back Up and Trying Again

One thing that the Lord has taught me since returning to Melbourne in January 2010 it’s that ministry involves setbacks, but we cannot allow them to keep us from getting up and trying again.  Although I would prefer learning this important lesson by reading a book instead of experiencing failure, the Lord in His wisdom used some painful experiences to test my endurance.  Situations like a student I began teaching english as a second language deciding he didn’t want me as a tutor after our first forty-five minute session, or  not being able to become a mentor in the school system because I am a minister.

My first thought after experiences like these is to feel sorry for myself and never attempt those things again.  But then God comes to my place of safe comfort and challenges me to try again, and again, and again if its necessary until His Will is accomplished.  There are some times when a setback or failure is God’s way of saying, “this isn’t my plan for you” but the Lord has truly placed a burden on my heart to teach ESL (English as a Second Language) and mentor in the school system.

Not only do I have a burden but opportunities to once again pursue these callings God has given.  The organization that trained me in ESL is currently interviewing tutors who will teach english and I am planning to start the application process this week.  Also in early November I will begin the application process to teach Religious Education classes at a local school (something that fell through last year), and am planning to approach teachers at the school where I volunteer on Wednesdays about becoming more involved and possibly mentoring students.

Attempting these things for the Lord I can do without a problem, having confidence during the application process is a bit hard.  After applying for a mentorship position twice and being rejected both times its easy to have a mindset that doesn’t believe you will be accepted.  And after running off your first student in one session its hard to be confident about working with a new one 🙂  I am aware that the Lord is with me in this, but would ask for your prayers that He would fill my heart with confidence and peace.  Whether or not these opportunities work out is not the important thing, the important thing is remaining faithful to the Lord, but at the same time I don’t want my pessimism or lack of confidence affect any ministry opportunities.

because of Who He is,

John Wilburn

Published by

John Wilburn

Church planter, teacher, and disciple-maker in Barrouallie St. Vincent

Leave a Reply

