Dear Yoda…..

Since I live on my own in Melbourne having a pet to give some companionship is very important to me, so after my cat Aussie died in 2011 I decided it was time to get a dog.  After four days of being without a pet I visited the local RSPCA (animal shelter) and immediately fell in love with a terrier mix named Yoda.  About a half hour later he was excitedly looking out the window as we drove home.

Since the day I “rescued” Yoda on June 6, 2011 he has been a great source of comfort, and enjoyment.  Unfortunately since I am leaving for a furlough in the States on September 7 (just two more weeks!) it’s necessary to find him a new home.  Thankfully the Lord has provided in an awesome way and at 7:30 tomorrow night he will meet his new family that includes three small children.  Since I am not interested in taking a small child’s beloved pet away he will be theirs for good and I look forward to rescuing another animal from the local shelter.

Even though I am thrilled Yoda will have a loving home a part of me will still miss him…so this afternoon I decided to let my imagination run wild and write out a letter which says goodbye properly.

Dear Yoda,

You are a gift to me from God.  Everyone who visits me can’t believe you actually came from a kennel because it means your previous owners didn’t want you anymore.  The first time I came to the RSPCA you weren’t even there; they had a few smaller dogs, which I sort of liked but there wasn’t a real connection.  Yet you where there the Monday afternoon I returned and all it took was a sixty-second walk on the lead to melt my heart.

Looking off to the side:  Hey what do you have there?  Is that my sock? That is my sock Yoda you come back here with that!  Dog enjoys playing “get the sock”  for ten minutes

Okay where was I?  Oh yes the first time I took you out of that cage I knew you where the dog for me.  Your other owners called you a Houdini because they kept you outside when they went to work and every day you got out somehow.  I occasionally (um wait) rarely (not that either) occasionally had trouble with you escaping but when it did happen you always came home to me.

Yoda comes running in with his squeaky bone;  The next half hour consists of hearing squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, (drinking water) squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak

I will never forget the first night at home you where nervous and didn’t know how to act…until I pulled out the ball.  In less than ten minutes you had destroyed the first (of many) dog toys and we where the best of friends.  Later that night while lying on the couch watching television you hopped behind my legs and put your head on my knee, and in that moment I knew you felt incredibly safe.  Then there was the first walk.

Upon hearing the word “walk” Yoda jumps up and starts running around the house; after fifteen minutes of this he calms down.

That’s right you do get really excited about those I will have to talk to the new family about that.

Hearing the word “talk” which sounds like “walk” Yoda runs around the house fifty more times

What really amazes me is how much you love people.  Most folks have to put their dogs outside when company comes over because they are mean or bark too much…I have to do it because you will jump into people’s laps and lick them all over the face.

 Yoda sees a leaf fall from a tree three hundred yards away and continues to bark for five minutes

In all honesty you have been a great companion and encouragement for the last fifteen months boy and I wish we could stay together…but trust me those three kids are going to make you really happy.  So be good while I’m gone and make sure to protect their house just like you did mine.

I love you boy

Published by

John Wilburn

Church planter, teacher, and disciple-maker in Barrouallie St. Vincent

One thought on “Dear Yoda…..”

Leave a Reply

