Why I Miss Saturday Mornings With Yoda

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In 2011 after living for a year in a small apartment I moved into a rental home and one of my first thoughts was “now I can finally get a dog!”  A few months afterwards Aussie my cat (and first Australian pet) died, two days later I found myself at the local RSPCA (Australian dog shelter), and about a half hour later Yoda was coming home with me.

I didn’t actually call him that but since he was an older dog the only option was using Yoda or another name that rhymed with it (maybe soda?).  The first night there he crawled up on the couch and laid his head on my leg while I was watching TV…we were best friends from that point on.

The thing I miss about Yoda was his energy and love of dog walks.  Originally his red leash would be kept near the door but it had to be moved because anytime I came within ten feet of it Yoda would start running around the house thinking it was time for his dog walk.  This was easily taken care of by moving the leash, but eventually he learned that blue jeans=dog walk so the minute I changed out of my pajamas he went berserk.

Some of my fondest memories with him were our Saturday morning playtime which consisted of playing fetch and enjoying his squeeky bone (which was kept in a closet because he literally could not stop playing with it).  Sadly before leaving Melbourne I had to give Yoda up, the good news is a family with three small children have him now and I am sure he is living an incredibly happy life.  That doesn’t keep me from missing him though….especially on Saturday mornings.

More About Yoda:

1.  What a Dog Taught Me About Exodus

2.  Dear Yoda

Published by

John Wilburn

Church planter, teacher, and disciple-maker in Barrouallie St. Vincent

Leave a Reply

