Remembering My Call

wpid-mylastemail-2014-01-18-19-391.jpeg

Monday morning while I was working at the kitchen table my mother handed me a folder with a huge smile on her face. I looked down and realized they were emails they received from me during a Missions Trip to Melbourne in February 2004. A three-week trip that God used to place a burden upon my heart for the Australian people.

It was really encouraging being able to look through the emails sent to them almost ten years ago, but there was one in particular I was interested in finding. Because it was written the morning after the Lord called me to Melbourne.

The three week missions trip had left no doubt in my mind that the Lord wanted me to serve Him in Australia, but when people ask how I know I’ve been called my mind goes back to a moment that took place the first Tuesday.

New Missionaries were coming onto the field that afternoon and I was surprised to see a huge group of Aussie Christians waiting for them. The moment that family came through the doors separating customs from the main airport those Believers jumped over the bar they were supposed to walk around and welcomed them to Australia   As I watched from the back of the crowd with all of my heart I wanted to be those people.

That night Melbourne became home for me, and the place were I would always leave my heart.

The next morning I wrote an email to my parents with tears streaming down my face (names of the Missionaries have been blurred although they are still faithfully serving in Australia.)

wpid-1____mylastemail-2014-01-21-16-20.jpeg

There have been moments in life when it would be easy to wonder whether or not the Lord has actually called me to Melbourne (especially during the Visa process) but if I close my eyes I can see those Australians embracing my Missionary friends, and it makes that desire to return home stronger.

Published by

John Wilburn

Church planter, teacher, and disciple-maker in Barrouallie St. Vincent

Leave a Reply

