Super Bowl Commercials and My Childhood

If your like me by half-time show of Sundays Superbowl the commercials were gathering more interest than the actual game (unless you’re a Seahawks fan).  It’s interesting to see which commercials become popular each year, and the ones that are never remembered again because this gives us a glimpse into what people truly love.

And one of the things we learned this year is people love reliving their childhood

I have to admit one of the most entertaining commercials for me was from Radio Shack since I was a child of the 80’s.  Being able to see Alf (a stuffed Alf toy was my prized possession as a kid) and 1980s Hulk Hogan (yes I watched Saturday morning wrestling every week) brought back some great memories.

Thankfully I was able to relive my childhood again when the Muppet Show band was prominently displayed in a car commercial.  Of course this is promoting their upcoming movie in March (which looks amazing by the way).

Even Danon yogurt got into the act by taking a romantic commercial and making it hilarious with a Full House reunion.

Why would commercials reminding me of childhood heroes, or a favorite Muppet character become so popular?  Because life today can be explained with the one word “drama.”  From the time they get up in the morning till the moment they collapse in bed from exhaustion adults in todays culture spend all of their time dealing with one crisis after another.

This is why I love those Super Bowl Commercials, because they remind me of a much simpler time as a kid.  A time when the biggest problem was running out of my favorite cereal for breakfast, or missing my favorite cartoon.

It’s very easy in the busyness of our world to forget the happiness and innocence of that simpler time.  So every once in a while it’s a blessing to relive our childhood and remember how awesome it was being a kid…even if it only lasts for a minute.

Published by

John Wilburn

Church planter, teacher, and disciple-maker in Barrouallie St. Vincent

Leave a Reply

